Keer. Ben. Lisa. (Comments)

I started a new post to comment for the Keer. Ben. Lisa. post. Not because I want to add more posts! But I think if I continued to write comments after the entire story, it will lose the effect of the story (because you still go on to read my comments) and I might sound long-winded. :/ I linked it under Artworks but whatever. It’s an extension! :/ And I changed to the timing so that it will appear under the post.

So anyway, I liked the pinhole project. It’s cool that we are able to produce images mainly based on just the light exposure. Makes me think of how wondrous physics can actually be (oh no if Mrs Wong sees this, she will be sad.) because it feels very un-technology-like (I’m thinking more of digital stuff).

Ok enough ramblings.

1.Keer’s photo was a little dark on the left. And there are two fingerprints on it. Careless handling of the paper! tsk tsk. I did a stencil for the fish and went to spray paint it. I also did a cat stencil (spray painted too) which I had originally planned to do something about Ben being chased and attacked/ made friends with a cat at the school’s guardhouse. But it failed cause the cat was disproportionate for the corner I had wanted to use. Too small, I think. And I would have to create a large Ben to fit. And I still have both stencils!

I also like how my pinhole Snoopy can is small, which gives the fisheye effect for larger pieces of paper inserted.

2.I must confess, the second picture of Ben escaping was a photo taken with a camera, because the original one didn’t come out as ideally. The presentation was gonna be on soon, and I didn’t have enough time to take another ( I placed the pinhole atop the dustbin in front of the toilet for a pretty long time, and I don’t want to block the way) So I had to cheat with the camera. Which explains the sharp details. The Escaping Ben image was also spray painted on. “MALE” was markered.

3. The third picture is overexposed. Too much contrast. But you can still kinda make him out.

4. This picture wasn’t zoomed in enough, so you might not be able to see Lisa at the window. She’s a little uh, shadowy. :/ The proportions of Proposing Ben was actually life-sized so that he would be able to go with the  scale. I mean, 0.15m tall Ben proposing to (insert normal height here) Lisa (haha, Lisa.) wouldn’t be too impressive, would it? But I think I based him on myself, so he’s a little short for a guy. Plus I shortened him more still because my proportions could not fit into the 4 A3 sized papers, I think. Or 6.I gave him a flower too, because the details of a bouquet of flowers might be lost in pinhole photography. And a ring is too small to be seen.

And there’s this large flash of light at the bottom. It’s the sunlight (reflected from something, maybe. Or the grass). I had to take this from afar because the grass was unstable grounds.

5. Lastly, the last photo was a really clear pinhole (you can actually see the textures of the wall!). Unfortunately there aren’t much other details. And I think I could have added one of those “Crime Scene tapes”, to make it seem more like a suicide site. Plus those dotted silhouettes around Ben. Or do those come after they remove the body?

And Ben’s right arm is a bit long. Oops.

On the ending, I think it was rather abrupt. Si Hui suggested explaining what happened to the male toilet sign after he dies, so I decided to add on a bit more below.

*

After Ben’s death, Ministry of National Toilet Signs (MNTS) decided to open the Male Toilet Sign job to interested applicants.

Another guy, Tom, applied for the job and got it. A few months later, MNTS felt that the job was tiring and decided to offer some part time jobs. A couple of others came. This is the reason why we now have so many variations of toilet signs around the world now.

-End-

Leave a Reply

