How to overcome my problem and perhaps a change in location

We had another briefing on Viva Voce and turns out that I am supposed to convince my judges/teachers to “get” the artist’s intention. I don’t quite agree with that cause I don’t think that you should force your audience to believe in something. Everyone’s entitled to their own interpretation, right? Although if my intention is not clear, yes, it could be bad. From the audience point of view. If they don’t understand, there’s no meaning to it. But what if they find meaning of their own?! (Again, I could go back into the “What makes a good artwork and a good artist?” debate. Goodness that really makes my head spin sometimes.)

So anyway,

Since I am to convince my teachers, I had better be good talking during Viva Voce, shouldn’t I? So to overcome this problem, I will soon post the Inspiration post for my coursework, and try explaining it to friends first. And maybe my mom. Then even my grandfather (would it be awkward telling him all that? For goodnes sake if I am able to tell him without feeling awkward, this project had really helped me a lot communcation-wise with my grandpa.) The ultimate test should probably be my grandfather cause it concerns him and if I can tell him without feeling awkward, I should be ready to go for Viva Voce. I pray.

And a change in Location.

Remember in an earlier post I mentioned the SAC being a possible venue for the work? Given that I am going to have to convince the teachers, making the work as peaceful as possible would be the optimum choice. So I should check out the place soon.

Ok all set.  Seeya.

-Edit-

Well guess what it works! On Monday (23 Aug 2010) Nicole asked me about my coursework and I was so very tempted to say “Uhh…” but I didn’t! And told her and explained. Jac and Lisa were beside her so it was kinda of a three-man audience. Yay!

Leave a Reply

