2902- Feb 20

I’m not used to using WordPress. it is weird.

anyhow, in a fit of boredom and impulsiveness, I dragged my brother to Old School the other day (20th feb) after a failed day of shopping for Graces dress and his shirts for an upcoming dinner. It was boring (the shopping).

the gallery was named after the date it opened.

We went to 2902 gallery, where this exhibition was on:

presentation | representation 6 Feb 10 – 13 Mar 10
This is a collection of images depicting the deconstruction of conventional landscape. Evoking a sense of romanticism and avant-gardism, it is the personal self-interpretation of landscapes and a reflection of the emerging state-of-the-art innovations of photography.

But. I wasn’t too interested by that. I was more interested by the intimate series of photography of various artists at their most private moments. In the artist’s statement, it was something about artists constantly presenting a well-practiced image of self-presentation to others that do not reveal their true self. Yet these photographs were captured by the German (i think the artist is German) when they were most deep-in-thought. When they realise that the camera is on them, there is a sense of self-awareness.

I like the concept of catching people in their most private moments and evoking that caught-in-action-almost-clumsy sudden sense of self-awareness, versus capturing someone with the honed and practiced image of one’s self-projection. It’s like catching a person who is half in-half out of his very private world, and there’s this sense of confusion and awareness of oneself.

Unfortunately I am only continuing a draft written in on March 1, recounting an event that occurred on Feb 20, and it is currently April 2. Then, I had planned to continue with the draft the next day. But I forgot and only just noticed it. This is horrible. I didn’t manage to get much details on it and can’t remember the artist’s/series name. To tell the truth I don’t have the habit of remembering the artist/work title. I read the description and look at the work. I only remember the images. ARGH.

I will learn from this lesson to take note of the artist’s name/ work’s name in future exhibitions etc.

Aye. ):

we passed by this sculpture as we left. I do not know its name. But I like the use of the vibrant red. It suits the emotion.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

