Graces logo

Graces original

This it’s the Graces logo I drew for…  next year’s Graces. Sigh.

Anyway, I really like the idea for it. This is one of the few works I did whereby I immediately knew exactly how I wanted it to be when the theme was given (or rather, when I started thinking about it).

When I thought of Graces, I thought of a girl who was breaking out of her boundaries. Graces is about transforming from a girl to a young lady. It’s a very fresh, exciting thing.  So I wanted to give off the vibe of excitement, freshness, youth and gracefulness and roll it all into one. When I think of grace, I think of dance, I think of ballet (and also a certain friend of mine). Water is cool and refreshing. I love splashes. Hence, came forth the girl bursting out of water in an air of gracefulness.

However, I feel that the water could be more um, explosive to give more energy. The girl’s skirt (on the left) could also be flying slightly higher to give a more energized look. And Mr Chang said that the font for Graces could be bigger. I guess I couldn’t let go enough to erase the splash and scrawl “GRACES” across it. I didn’t want to spoil it.

I’ll upload the final (with colour) when I get the file from the mac lab.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Graces logo

  1. jezamine. says:

    this is the best design for graces in the whole of nanyang history.

  2. yingxin says:

    The splashing water is so cool…and the droplets of water makes the whole composition balanced.I like the perspective you have chosen as it makes the girl look like she’s about to take off.. However, the skirt seems to be quite stiff. Smoother and more curvy line work would have been able to create a more flow-y look. But still, this is so so much better than the one on our PRETTY graces tshirt):

Leave a Reply

